Faculties and Departments

About Kyoto Women’s University

The origin of Kyoto Women’s University goes back to 1899. Established by a young Buddhist named Ms. Wariko Kai, the objective of the then-named Kendo Jogakuin was to educate women with the spirit of Buddhism as a foundation. In the 119 years since, Kyoto Women's University has contributed to society as a pioneer of female education in Japan. Immediately after college education became accessible for women following the end of World War II, Kyoto Women's University opened with the Faculty of Letters and the Faculty of Home Economics. Subsequent additions include the Faculty of Human Development and Education, the Faculty of Contemporary Society and the Faculty of Law (the first law faculty at a women’s university in Japan), meaning the university today consists of 5 faculties and 5 graduate courses. The university has produced a number of talented women actively working in a diverse range of fields.

Kyoto Women's University

Kyoto Women's University, Graduate School

Graduate School of Letters Japanese Language and Literature Master's Course / Doctoral Course
English Language and Literature Master's Course / Doctoral Course
History Master's Course / Doctoral Course
Graduate School of Human Development and Education Education Master's Course / Doctoral Course
Psychology Master's Course
Culture in Expression Master's Course
Child Studies Master's Course
Graduate School of Home Economics Food and Nutrition Master's Course
Apparel and Space Design Master's Course
Living and Welfare Management Master's Course
Living Environment Doctoral Course
Graduate School of Contemporary Society Public Spheres Studies Master's Course / Doctoral Course
Graduate School of Law Law Master's Course

Affiliated Schools